Covid -19 Forces Indefinite Closure of FCT Area Councils


By Olawale Ajimotokan

All the six Area Council Secretariats in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have been shut down indefinitely as a precaution to the spread of Covid-19, also known as Coronavirus, in the territory.

The affected Area Councils are Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Bwari, Kuje, Gwagwalada, Abaji and Kwali.

As a fallout of this development, all the workers in the affected secretariats have been ordered to stay at home.

The Chairman of the FCT Association of Local Governments Nigeria (ALGON), Mustapha Danze, conveyed this decision Monday when he addressed the media at AMAC secretariat on behalf of other council chairmen.

Danze, who is the Chairman of the Gwagwalada Area Council, said all the six council secretariats will remain closed pending when further directives are issued in the future.

He said all council staff were expected to strictly comply with this directive.

The six Area council chairmen disclosed that the decision to close the secretariats was reached when they met on Monday. They also resolved that the decision was taken in the interest of the staff and all FCT residents.